Home

Membership

Community

Events and Awards

Media

About ISI

Resources

SCB

  • Register

Webinar

This webinar is organized on the occasion of the presentation of the book “Why Inegi? The saga of a Mexican institution in search of the truth” by Mario Palma and will take place on 29 June 2021.

The ISI, IAOS and Inegi would like to invite the international statistical community to the webinar “The role of statistical agencies in societies and why professional independence is its indispensable foundation” on the occasion of the presentation of the book “Why Inegi? The saga of a Mexican institution in search of the truth” by Mario Palma.

The book raises two needs that have marked the National Institute of Statistics and Geography of Mexico (Inegi)'s evolution: the first, to properly measure the many components of reality, whether social, economic or natural; and the second, decisive for the public's trust, to preserve the information from any consideration, other than strictly professional, in all stages of its production and dissemination. This work conveys the transcendence of National Statistical Offices as indispensable institutions to respond to the fundamental question, common to all human beings and societies: to know and understand the reality of their environment.

The webinar will take place on 29 June 2021 at
9:00 EST (Mexico City) / 10:00 EDT (New York) / 15:00 BST (London) / 16:00 CEST (Amsterdam).

Register for the event

Download the book for free