Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

The ISI is pleased to announce the results of the 2021 competition for the Jan Tinbergen Awards. These biennial awards are for best papers by young statisticians in addressing statistical problems in building statistical capacity in countries with limited statistical infrastructure.

Qirui Hu

The first prize winner in Division A

Jie Li

The first prize winner in Division A

Ms Mozhgan Taavoni

The first prize winner in Division B - Statistical Systems

Our warm congratulations to the winners of the 2021 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards. The first prize winners in Division A are Mr Jie Li and Mr Qirui Hu from China for their paper “Prediction Interval of Air Pollutants Concentration by Nonparametric Regression Analysis".

Papers in Division A are to address an applied statistical problem of real interest in countries with a limited statistical infrastructure (developing countries). Such problems could relate to an economic, social or political development relevant to a developing country or region. The main criteria are statistical and/or data quality, innovation and quality of exposition and communication. The paper can make contributions in one or more of the following areas: generation of new methodological development, meeting the challenge of gathering reliable data in developing regions, and innovative application of statistical methods to a significant problem in order to benefit a developing country or region. Such problems could arise in any of the sciences, engineering, economics, health, agriculture or business areas.”

The first prize winner in Division B Statistical Systems is Ms Mozhgan Taavoni from Iran for her paper ‘High dimensional generalized semiparametric model for longitudinal data’. 

"Papers in Division B may be on any topic that directly addresses the development and improvement of statistical systems in countries with limited statistical infrastructure (developing countries). The main criteria are innovative and significant contribution to
statistical progress in government or government organisations in a developing country, and quality of exposition and communication. Contributions could be in innovative applications of existing statistical methods, or application of new sources and innovative data collection and production.”

The ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards are named after the famous Dutch econometrician and Nobel Prize winner, and are sponsored by the Dutch ‘Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds’ (International Statistical Study Fund Foundation). The aim of the Foundation is
to offer assistance to developing countries in the statistical domain.

The International Statistical Institute received twenty six submissions. Of those, two best papers were selected winners of the Jan Tinbergen Award. We are grateful for the outstanding work of the Jan Tinbergen Selection Committee, chaired by Prof. Alexandra M.
Schmidt, who have reviewed with expertise and thoroughness all twenty six applications.

International Statistical Institute and the members of the selection committee warmly congratulate the ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards Winners. The winners will present the papers at the virtual 63 rd ISI WSC in July 2021.

John Bailer, ISI President
Fabrizio Ruggeri, ISI Award Coordinator