Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

The Bernoulli Society and the Royal Statistical Society have joined forces to launch a new award named in honour of David G Kendall, inaugural president of the Bernoulli Society and the 1981 recipient of the RSS Guy Medal in Gold. 

The David G Kendall Award is for early career researchers working in probability or mathematical statistics within eight years of getting their PhD (but could be extended for those having had a career break). It will be presented every other year, with the first in 2021. 
The €2,000 award should be used to cover the expenses of attendance at a BS or an RSS conference (typically the Bernoulli-IMS World Congress, the ISI World Statistics Congress or the RSS Annual Conference), where the recipient will receive their award and give a lecture. More about the nomination process is on the Bernoulli Society page.

RSS President Deborah Ashby says: 'It is very exciting to be able to honour David Kendall’s memory by celebrating the work of young researchers. I hope that with this award, we can highlight some of the excellent research that’s currently taking place in mathematical statistics and probability.'

Bernoulli Society President Claudia Klüppelberg adds: 'The Bernoulli Society (BS) is very proud to announce this joint BS and RSS Award in honour of David G Kendall. As their first president, BS would perhaps not exist without him, and now in his name a new and fruitful collaboration with RSS is initiated.’

Finally, David's son Wilfrid, says: 'DGK always put a high priority on encouraging career-young researchers, and urging them to make every effort to attend and speak at international conferences. And he was enormously proud of his RSS and Bernoulli affiliations. Consequently, I and the rest of the Kendall family are absolutely delighted that the RSS and Bernoulli Society are honouring his memory in this way.’ 

The award is based on donations – those who wish to donate can do so via the award page of RSS or the ISI page.

Nominations should be sent to Bernoulli.President@ma.tum.de 
The deadline for nominations is 31 January 2021.