Join Us


Events and Awards


About ISI



International Statistical Institute

Statistical Science for a Better World
  • Register

For Young Statisticians

The ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards are named after the famous Dutch econometrician and Nobel Prize winner, and are sponsored by the Dutch ‘Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds’ (International Statistical Study Fund Foundation). The aim of the Foundation is to offer assistance to developing countries in the statistical domain. The intention of the ISI Jan Tinbergen awards is to meet the Foundation’s aim and two of the fundamental objectives of the ISI, namely defining and instituting constructive roles in supporting the development of young statisticians and in building statistical capacity in developing countries.

The ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards are for best papers for the biennial World Statistics Congresses (WSC) by young statisticians. There are two divisions, with one award in each division for each WSC. For each winning paper, the Foundation generously provides a cash prize and support to enable the author to participate and present the paper at the next ISI World Statistics Congress.


Professor Jan Tinbergen (1903–1994) was a Dutch economist. He was awarded the first Nobel Prize in Economics in 1969, joint with Ragnar Frisch, for the development and application of dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes. He was a founding trustee of Economists for Peace and Security.



Important note:

The competition for the Award is open to all young statisticians, regardless of their nationality. Previously, the competition was open only to young statisticians from developing countries. From 2019 onwards, the emphasis of this competition, is no longer on the nationality of the applicants but on the subject of the paper. Papers should now address statistical problems of real relevance in building statistical capacity in countries with limited statistical infrastructure.


Division A: general

Papers in Division A are to address an applied statistical problem of real interest in countries with a limited statistical infrastructure (developing countries).  Such problems could relate to an economic, social or political development relevant to a developing country or region. The main criteria are statistical and/or data quality, innovation and quality of exposition and communication. The paper can make contributions in one or more of the following areas: generation of new methodological development, meeting the challenge of gathering reliable data in developing regions, and innovative application of statistical methods to a significant problem in order to benefit a developing country or region. Such problems could arise in any of the sciences, engineering, economics, health, agriculture or business areas.


Division B: statistical systems

Papers in Division B may be on any topic that directly addresses the development and improvement of statistical systems in countries with limited statistical infrastructure (developing countries). The main criteria are innovative and significant contribution to statistical progress in government or government organisations in a developing country, and quality of exposition and communication. Contributions could be in innovative applications of existing statistical methods, or application of new sources and innovative data collection and production.

For both divisions, the criteria for quality of exposition and communication include adequate reference to related work; technical and methodological standard of work; quality of writing organisation and clarity.



  • The paper must be an unpublished, original contribution. It may include material from the author’s thesis.
  • The paper must be written in English.
  • The author and all co-authors (if any) of the paper must be born in 1987 or later.
  • If the paper has co-author(s), the percentage contribution from all authors must be stated.
  • Previous winners of the award are not eligible (even as co-authors).



Winners of the 2019 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards


Division A: 1st Prize:

Mr Jetrei Benito (Philippines)

Paper: Modeling the Financial Market Indicators with Semiparametric Volatility Model with Varying Frequency.
Division B: 1st Prize:

Edvira Malliedje Fokam (Côte d’Ivoire)

Paper: Intra household resource allocation and gender relation in Côte d’Ivoire : a way for facing non inclusive growth situation.



Winners of the 2017 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards


1st Prize:

Marcelo Bourguignon Pereira (Brazil)

Paper: Modelling time series of counts with deflation or inflation of zeros.
2nd Prize:

Christian Eduardo Galarza Morales (Brazil)

Paper: Robust logistic quantile regression models using skewed heavy-tailed distributions.


Winners of the 2015 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards


1st Prize:

Ms. Ajmery Jaman (Bangladesh)

Paper: A Bias-Corrected Approach to Rotnitzky-Jewell Criteria for Appropriate Correlation Structure Selection in Generalized Estimating Equations.
2nd Prize:

Ms. Katiane Silva Conceição (Brazil)

Paper: Zero-Modifed Models for Count Data
2nd Prize:

Mr. Arun Kumar Kuchibhotla (India)

Paper: Testing in Additive and Projection Pursuit Models.


Winners of the 2013 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards

1st Prize:

Mr. Abhik Ghosh (India)

2nd Prize:

Mr. Lu Han (China)

3rd Prize:

Ms. Iris Ivy Gauran

(co-authors, Philippines)
3rd Prize:

Ms. Maria Sofia Criselda A. Poblador

(co-authors, Philippines)

ISI Site Map