Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register


The biennial International Prize in Statistics, IPS, is stewarded and managed by a foundation comprising representatives of the five major statistical organizations working cooperatively to develop this prestigious award: the American Statistical Association, Institute of Mathematical Statistics, International Biometric Society, International Statistical Institute, and Royal Statistical Society. The goal of the foundation is to present the honoree(s) with a level of monetary award that will give the statistics prize credibility with the media and public around the world.

Mirroring the successful approach employed by other prestigious scientific prizes, the IPS recognizes an individual statistician or team of statisticians (groups of individuals working on similar ideas as teams of individuals or organizations) for “a single work or body of work”.

The International Prize in Statistics is awarded every other year at the ISI World Statistics Congress.

See more at: statprize.org

Call for Nominations

See statprize.org


The 2021 International Prize in Statistics was given to Nan Laird


Nan Laird Prof. Em. Nan Laird

The International Prize in Statistics has been awarded to US biostatistician Nan Laird, Harvey V. Fineberg Professor of Biostatistics (Emerita) at Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, in recognition of her work on powerful methods that have made possible the analysis of complex longitudinal studies. Announcement



The International Prize in Statistics 2021 Lecture, by Nan Laird, at WSC 2021 on 12 July.

The 2019 International Prize in Statistics Awarded to Stanford's Bradley Efron


Bradley Efron Prof. Bradley Efron

The International Prize in Statistics has been awarded to Bradley Efron, professor of statistics and biomedical data science at Stanford University, in recognition of the "bootstrap," a method he developed in 1977 for assessing the uncertainty of scientific results that has had extraordinary impact across many scientific fields. Announcement



The 2017 International Prize in Statistics Awarded to Sir David Cox for Survival Analysis Model Applied in Medicine, Science, and Engineering.


Sir David Cox Sir David Cox

Prominent British statistician Sir David Cox has been named the inaugural recipient of the International Prize in Statistics. Like the acclaimed Fields Medal, Abel Prize, Turing Award and Nobel Prizes, the International Prize in Statistics is considered the highest honor in its field. It will be bestowed every other year to an individual or team for major achievements using statistics to advance science, technology, and human welfare. Announcement