Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register
Calendar of Events

Women: Statistically Significant

12 May 2021

Join SIS and ISI in celebrating the INTERNATIONAL YEAR OF WOMEN IN STATISTICS & DATA SCIENCE, launched on May 12, 2020 to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Florence Nightingale's birthday.


  • Fulvia Mecatti Co-Organizer
  • Corrado Crocetta SIS President
  • Jessica Utts Chair IYWSDS Committee


h 10:00 Greetings

h 10:10 That Special Gen(d)re of Statistics (Organizer & Chair: Fulvia Mecatti, Unimib)

  • Pierluigi Conti (Sapienza Univ Roma): The Lady with the lamp of Statistics
  • Daniela Cocchi (Unibo): Cristina di Belgiojoso: the romantic princess who didn't disdain numbers
  • Women in scientific societies: the y-SIS perspective: Gaia Bertarelli (Univ Sant'Anna Pisa) and Saverio Ranciati (Unibo) talk with Emanuele Aliverti (Unive, y-SIS coordinator)
  • Where gender gap exists Statistical women do not fit!!: Mariangela Sciandra (UniPA), Alice Blandino (Heidelberg Univ), Angela Carollo (Max Planck Institute), Anna Rita Filippi (Unicredit) and Martina Vittorietti (Tech Univ Delft)

h 11:00 Women & STEM: the Italian case (Organizer & Chair: Massimo Attanasio Unipa)

  • Dalit Contini (Unito): Gender gap in Mathematics in the Italian high schools
  • Antonella D'Agostino (Uniparthenope), Giulio Ghellini (Unisi) and Gabriele Lombardi (Unisi): Gender inequalities in Italian STEM Higher Education
  • Massimo Attanasio, Daniele Cuntrera and Vincenzo Falco (Unipa): Gender gap in the Italian Academia

h 12:00 Engendered international perspective (Organizer & Chair: Fabrizio Ruggeri, ISI Vice-president & Co-Chair ISI SCB, CNR IMATI) with video-recorded contributions by

  • Ada van Krimpen (The Netherlands - ISI Director)
  • Delia North (South Africa)
  • Atinuke Adebanji (Ghana)
  • Tamanna Howlader (Bangladesh - Young ISI)
  • Asifa Kamal (Pakistan)
  • Reija Helenius (Finland - ISLP Director)
  • Denise Britz do Nascimento Silva (Brazil - IASS President)
  • Irena Krizman (Slovenia - ISI SCB Co-Chair)
  • Helen MacGillivray (Australia - ISI Past President)

Download the PDF flyer.