Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

ISI Officers’ Elections Results


A tabulation of the 656 ballots regarding ISI Officers resulted in the election of the following persons:


President-Elect (2011-2013)

Vijay Nair (USA)


Vice-Presidents (2011-2013)

Pali Lehohla (South Africa)
Helen L. MacGillivray (Australia)
Hallgrímur Snorrason (Iceland)


Council (2011-2015)

Daniela Cocchi (Italy)
Lawrence H. Cox (USA)
Stephen E. Fienberg (USA)                               
Enrico Giovannini (Italy)                                            
Shigeru Kawasaki (Japan)                                
Claudia Klüppelberg (Germany)                                    
Aad van der Vaart (Netherlands)                                 
James V. Zidek (Canada)


Present Council members who will be continuing their service for a further two years (2011-2013) are:

Bovas Abraham (Canada)
Martha B. Aliaga (Argentina/USA)
A. John Bailer (USA)
Marie Husková (Czech Republic)
Jens Ledet Jensen (Denmark)
Geoffrey F. Lee (Australia)
Awa Thiongane (Senegal)
Vincenzo Esposito Vinzi (Italy)



The formal approval of the election results by the General Assembly is due to occur during the Dublin WSC that is scheduled for 21st -26th August 2011.  We are grateful to all candidates for their enthusiasm and willingness to support the ISI.  The newly elected team, under the leadership of incoming President Jae C. Lee, will start its work at the completion of the Dublin WSC on 26th August 2011.