Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

The 2011 Weldon Memorial Prize and Medal


The Weldon Memorial Prize and Medal is given yearly by the University of Oxford.

The prize is awarded, "without regard to nationality or membership of any University to the person who, in the judgement of the electors, has, in the ten years next preceding the date of the award, published the most noteworthy contribution to the development of mathematical or statistical methods applied to problems in Biology. (Biology shall, for the purposes of this clause, be interpreted as including Zoology, Botany, Anthropology, Sociology, Psychology, and Medical Science.)"


Previous winners of the prize include: R.A. Fisher, E.S. Pearson, J.B.S Haldane, Mahalanobis, Sewall Wright, Motoo Kimura, M.S. Bartlett, D.G. Kendall, Robert May, D.R. Cox, John Maynard Smith, Warren Ewens, Richard Peto, Peter Donnelly and David Spiegelhalter.


The prize commemorates the memory of Walter Frank Raphael Weldon FRS (1860-1906), former Linacre Professor of Comparative Anatomy at the University of Oxford.  Weldon was a Zoologist of distinction and one of the leading early biometricians.


The Prize has been awarded to Professor David Haussler, University of California, Santa Cruz.


Previous winners

2010 - Professor Russell S. Lande, Royal Society Research Professor at Imperial College London, Division of Biology, Section of Ecology & Evolution


2009 - Professor David Spiegelhalter, FRS, OBE, Winton Professor of the Public Understanding of Risk at the University of Cambridge, and Senior Scientist in the MRC Biostatistics Unit.