Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

The Indian Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, representing the Government of India, is continuing its biennial initiative to award the Mahalanobis International Award in Statistics in memory of the eminent Indian statistician Professor P.C. Mahalanobis.


The Award is to be given to a selected statistician from a developing country (countries that are identified in UN pages) who has worked there in recognition of his/her lifetime achievement in Statistics and the promotion of best statistical practices. This initiative serves the double purpose of keeping the memory of P.C. Mahalanobis alive and of recognising and stimulating progress in Statistics in developing countries.


The Mahalanobis International Award in Statistics consists of:

1) An economy class return flight ticket to the 59th ISI World Statistics Congress in Hong Kong

2) A per diem payment for accommodation and other living expenses while in Hong Kong

3) A monetary award of US$ 7,500

The 2013 Award will be presented at the ISI World Statistics Congress in Hong Kong (25-30 August 2013).


The ISI Mahalanobis Committee on the International Award in Statistics, chaired by Professor Vincenzo Esposito Vinzi (Italy) is entrusted with the task to select the candidate for the 2013 Award.

The Committee invites to submit proposals for a candidate, with reasons supporting the proposed candidate and the proposed candidate’s curriculum vitae. Candidates can nominate themselves for the Award, accompanied by a support of two referees. Candidates can also be proposed by their organisation, academic institution, National Statistical Office or National Statistical Society


The previous winners of the Award are Professor C.R. Rao (India) in 2003, Professor Benjamin Kiregyera (Uganda) in 2005, Dr. Isidoro P. David (Philippines) in 2007, Professor Pedro Morettin (Brazil) in 2009 and Professor Victor J. Yohai (Argentina) in 2011.


Please send proposals, with supporting documents, to Ms. Shabani Mehta at the ISI Permanent Office (s.mehta @ cbs.nl) before 10th January 2013. Please use "Mahalanobis Award 2013" in the subject.


General information on the Mahalanobis Award