Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register

The award was established through a motion of the Board of Directors in 2001 and subsequent definition of the nature of the award. The award winner will not yet have reached his/her 41st birthday at the time of nomination and is recognized for having made outstanding contributions to the field of environmetrics (see TIES Awards at http://www.environmetrics.org/). The nominee does not need to be a TIES member.

This award includes travel to and registration at the next international meeting, a plaque, a year of membership in TIES with subscription to Environmetrics and a cash prize.

The TIES Awards Committee seeks nominations for the 2011 Abdel El-Shaarawi Young Investigator Award.

Please send your nominations to the chair of the nominations committee, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. before the end of April 2011. The nomination can be very informal, but it would be helpful for the committee if it contains a list of publications and a CV (or a link to one) of the nominee.

Reinhard Viertl

For the year 2010, the winner is Marc Genton, Department of Statistics Texas A&M University, with the following motivation:

“He is a world-leading statistician who has made fundamental contributions in statistical theory and practice, in teaching, and in service to the statistical community. He wrote an impressive number of theoretical and applied papers on several topics linked to environmetrics (climate science, paleoclimate reconstructions, precipitation analysis, pollutants studies, and wind power forecasting) and significantly contributed to disseminate knowledge with over 170 presentations at scientific conferences.”

The prize will be presented at the 58th ISI WSC in Dublin 2011.