Events and Awards


About ISI



  • Register


Data science has emerged as a very strong, visible, and publicly recognized label for problem-solving using ever-growing, large datasets and new data sources. The analysis and interpretation of these kinds of data include the adaptation of existing methods and development of novel statistical methods for specific data science applications. The discussion on advantages, disadvantages, limitations, and requirements of the use of alternative methodologies and data sources, in all areas of knowledge is setting the stage for the debate in national and international communities of statisticians, computer scientists, and other communities, all over the world.

Aiming at discussing the best way to make the International Institute a recognized association within data scientists in the broad sense, the ISI Executive Committee set up the “ISI Data Science Working Group”, chaired by Daniel Jeske and Juergen Symanzik, and composed by association representatives, special interest groups representatives and regional representatives. Thus the ISI Executive and Council Committees formed the “ISI SIG on Data Science”.

Objectives and expected products

  • To strengthen the collaboration between statisticians, computer scientists and other communities in the field of data science
  • To provide a “big tent” for all ISI member and other colleagues interested in data science and data analytics
  • To emphasize the importance of data science in the activities promoted by the ISI and its associations
  • To foster capacity building on data science including computational skills among statisticians and statistical skills among computational scientists
  • To coordinate and to promote, with the collaboration of the ISI, the ISI associations and the ISI SIG, specific activities in the field of data science

Management Committee

  • Paulo Canas Rodrigues (Brazil)
Vice-Chair (Chair-Elect)
  • Elisabetta Carfagna (Italy)
  • John Bailer (USA)
  • Ayse Bilgin (Australia)
  • Dan Jeske (USA)
  • Kerrie Mengersen (Australia)
  • Nathaniel Newlands (Canada)
  • Teresa A. Oliveira (Portugal)
  • Isabel Molina Peralta (Spain)
  • Peter Popoola (Nigeria)
  • Mara Sherlin D. Talento (Philippines)
  • Nalini Ravishanker (USA)
  • Rafael S. de Souza (USA)
  • Juergen Symanzik (USA)
  • Stefan van Aelst (Belgium)
  • Mark Daniel Ward (USA)

Liaison with the ISI PO: Olivia van Dijck-Timbol.